I agree with that. Now it is necessary for everybody who loves science (not just maths, but also physics and history), to inpire others, so they might inspire others…one way to do this are the great videos of Youtube’s “VSauce” or “Veritasium”…

Broken Penguins

There’s a popular NYTimes op’ed titled “Is Algebra Necessary?” which questions the need for kids to learn advanced math. The author cites that failing algebra is a large reason why many students drop out of high school and post-secondary school. Moreover, algebra is not really required for most jobs or liberal arts studies.

This is the wrong idea.

Don’t get me wrong. I hate math with a passion – mainly because I’m absolutely petrified of it. The fear of math is so common, it has a name: number anxiety. In high school calculus, I started panicking before I finished reading equations. Once, my father, a computer programmer, spent hours outside the bathroom door trying to coax me out while I bawled my eyes out after he tried to teach me basic algebra. They enrolled me in Kumon where I learned the art of cheating.

In North America, we…

View original post 256 more words

Leave a Reply

